About the Authors

Authors from the 2017/2018 series "How Disruptive Innovation is Shaping the Next-Gen Campus and Enabling Student Success."

Kenneth Atwater, Ph.D.

Dr. Ken Atwater became the seventh president of Hillsborough Community College (HCC) on July 1, 2010. Founded in 1968, HCC is currently the seventh largest community college in Florida's state college system, serving more than 45,000 students each year at its five campuses and three centers.

Jeffrey R. Docking, Ph.D.

Dr. Jeffrey R. Docking began his work as the seventeenth president of Adrian College on July 1, 2005. Since then, he has transformed the College from a struggling institution of less than 900 students to one enrolling nearly 1,700 today.

Jerry Falwell Jr.

Jerry Falwell, Jr. became president of Liberty University in May 2007 just after the passing of his father, Liberty's founder, Reverend Jerry Falwell. In the years since, Liberty has seen substantial growth in enrollment, financial resources, and capital improvements.

Pamela R. Fox, Ph.D.

Dr. Fox, a pianist and musicologist, has served as President and Professor of Music at Mary Baldwin University since July 2003. Under her leadership, Mary Baldwin has become a distinctive small coeducational university that maintains its historic commitment to the Mary Baldwin College for Women. MBU cultivates innovation and academic excellence through a constellation of signature programs.

Antoine M. Garibaldi, Ph.D.

Dr. Antoine M. Garibaldi is the 25th president and first lay president of University of Detroit Mercy.

Tim Goral

Tim Goral has been a member of Professional Media Group since 2000. He is senior editor of University Business magazine as well as District Administration, PMG's business publication for K12 district leaders.

Leo M. Lambert, Ph.D.

Leo M. Lambert is in his 19th year as president of Elon University and currently serves on the Board of Directors of the American Council on Education, the Association of Governing Boards, and the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

Paul L. LeBlanc, Ph.D.

Dr. Paul L. LeBlanc is President of Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU).  Under the 13 years of Paul's direction, SNHU has grown from 2,800 students to nearly 100,000. SNHU is one of the largest non-profit providers of online higher education in the country and the first to have a full competency-based degree program untethered to the credit hour or classes approved by a regional accreditor and the U.S. Department of Education.

Mary B. Marcy, Ph.D.

Mary B. Marcy began her tenure as the ninth president of Dominican University of California in 2011. A recognized national leader in higher education innovation, at Dominican she is drawing on institutional strengths to create a distinctive student experience that highlights signature work, academic excellence, mentoring, and engagement.

Dr. Nido R. Qubein

Dr. Nido Qubein has served as president of High Point University since 2005. An accomplished business leader and dedicated philanthropist, he has led the university through an extraordinary transformation...

Dr. Kevin M. Ross

Dr. Kevin M. Ross was named the fifth president of Lynn University, taking office July 1, 2006. He succeeded his father, Dr. Donald E. Ross, who founded Wilmington College before serving as Lynn’s president for 35 years. Ross also previously served Lynn as the associate dean of the College of International Communication, director of special projects, director of development, vice president of institutional advancement, and chief operating officer.