About the Authors

Authors from the 2020/2021 series, “Fostering a Culture of Innovation.”

Barbara K. Mistick, DM

Barbara Mistick became the fourth president of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) on September 1, 2019.

Eduardo M. Ochoa, Ph.D.

A native of Argentina, Dr. Ochoa attended bilingual schools in Buenos Aires through his sophomore year in high school before immigrating with his family to Portland, OR. He earned his bachelor’s degree in physics, with a minor in philosophy, from Reed College in 1973. Three years later, he finished his master’s at Columbia University in New York in nuclear science and engineering.

Nayef H. Samhat, Ph.D.

Nayef H. Samhat, the 11th president of Wofford College, is a native of Detroit, Michigan. He holds a B.A. in international affairs from The George Washington University's School of International and Public Affairs, a master's degree in international affairs from Columbia University, and a Ph.D. in political science from Northwestern University.

Elsa M. Núñez, Ed.D.

In August 2019, Dr. Elsa M. Núñez began her 14th year as the president of Eastern Connecticut State University. She came to the University in 2006 following more than 20 years as a senior administrator at such institutions as City University of New York (CUNY) and the University of Maine System.

Julio Frenk, MD, Ph.D.

Dr. Frenk became the sixth president of the University of Miami in August 2015. He also holds academic appointments as Professor of Public Health Sciences at the Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine and as Professor of Health Sector Management and Policy at the Business School.