About the Authors

Authors from the 2022/2023 series, “The Well Campus: An In-Depth Look”

George Hanbury II, Ph.D.

George L. Hanbury II, Ph.D. is the sixth president of Nova Southeastern University, the largest, private, professional-dominant research university in Florida. He assumed the role of President and CEO in July 2011.

Bryon Grigsby, Ph.D.

Bryon L. Grigsby returned to his alma mater and began his tenure as the 16th president of Moravian University in 2013.

Elizabeth Davis, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Davis became Furman University’s 12th President on July 1, 2014. Under her leadership, the university instituted The Furman Advantage, a distinctive vision for higher education that combines learning with immersive experiences outside the classroom, creating a personalized pathway that prepares students for lives of purpose, successful careers, and community benefit. The groundbreaking effort, which has received more than $52.5 million in support from The Duke Endowment, was launched in October 2016.

Kristin Sobolik, Ph.D.

Kristin Sobolik was appointed as the eighth chancellor of the University of Missouri–St. Louis in 2020 and leads the region’s premier public research university, which enrolls nearly 16,000 students, has 2,300 employees, and generates an economic impact of more than $430 million annually. Kristin joined the University of Missouri–St. Louis community in 2017 as provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, quickly rising to the role of executive vice chancellor followed by her appointment as interim chancellor and now, chancellor. Prior to UMSL, she served as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Wright State University in Dayton, OH, and Associate Dean, Associate Director, Chair, and Professor of Anthropology and Climate Change at the University of Maine. She earned her Ph.D. in Anthropology from Texas A&M University and B.S. in Biology from the University of Iowa.

Barbara A. Farley, Ph.D.

When Barbara A. Farley, Ph.D. joined Illinois College as the 14th president in 2013, she brought a deeply rooted conviction that small liberal arts colleges, like Illinois College, are essential because of their ability to educate “the whole person” and prepare them to lead meaningful lives, empowered to make a difference in the world. She has spent nearly ten years actively working to support the students, faculty, and staff of Illinois College.

Joe Bertolino, Ed.D.

In 2016, Joe Bertolino was named the 12th President of Southern Connecticut State University, a public institution of 10,000 students in New Haven. President Joe, as he is affectionately known, has been a social justice educator for almost 30 years, and is passionate about student success and access to higher education.

Robert Johnson, Ph.D.

Dr. Robert E. Johnson was appointed as the sixth president of Western New England University in 2020, charged with leading the institution as it embarks on its second century.

Mildred Garcia, Ed.D.

Mildred García assumed the presidency of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) on January 22, 2018.