Patricia McGuire has been president of Trinity Washington University since 1989. Previously, she was the assistant dean for development and external affairs at Georgetown University Law Center, where she was also an adjunct professor of law. She began her career after law school as the project director for the Street Law clinical program at Georgetown University. 

President McGuire serves on a number of boards, including the Consortium of Universities, Cafritz Foundation, College Success Foundation – DC, Catholic Charities DC, United Educators, and the Ameritas Holding Company. Her prior board service includes the American Council on Education, the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, the Meyer Foundation, the Community Foundation of the National Capital Region, and numerous other organizations. 

In 2018 she received the Association of Catholic Colleges Distinguished Service Award. In 2016, the TIAA Institute honored President McGuire with the Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence. In 2015 President McGuire received the Carnegie Award for Academic Leadership from the Carnegie Corporation. In 2012 she received the Henry Paley Award from the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities. In 2010 she received the Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom from the American Association of University Professors. 

President McGuire earned her law degree at Georgetown University and her baccalaureate degree cum laude at Trinity Washington University. She holds honorary degrees from several universities including Georgetown University, Howard University, Chatham University, Emmanuel College, Saint Michael’s College, Liverpool Hope University, the College of New Rochelle, and others. She has received recognition in the Washington Post, Washingtonian magazine, Washington Business Journal, and other media outlets. In 2007 she was named “Leader of the Years” by the Greater Washington Board of Trade.